Astrological Houses: What Do They Say About Your Personality?

    According to Astrology, the Houses constitute the "where," that is, the area of our life where the planetary energies act. The birth chart reading allows us to direct the energies to reach our potential.
    Astrological Houses are mathematically calculated locations on the birth chart. There are twelve houses, each ruled by a different sun sign. Therefore, they represent positions in the sky. In Astrology, the Houses constitute the "where," that is to say, the area of life where the planetary energies act.

    What are the Astrological Houses?

    The Astrological Houses are the areas of life where we direct our energies. As with the signs, each house has its domain such as creativity, money, marriage, career, spirituality, health, among others. The First House begins on the easternmost horizon, at the moment of our birth. It is governed by the Ascendant sign, or cusp of the 1st house, and so on, in the opposite direction to the clock's needles, around the circle that forms the horoscope. The division between Houses is called the cusp. The first six astrological Houses are known as "Personal Houses," while the last six are "Interpersonal Houses."

    The 12 Astrological Houses and the Journey through the Zodiac

    Symbolically, the Zodiac is much more than the path of the Sun across the horizon. It represents the journey of the human experience. It reflects the soul's path (the Sun ) through the various phases of life from conception through childhood and culminating in old age. In the Ascendant, or cusp of the First House, the soul is embodied and assumes an ego, gaining self-awareness. As it passes through the Houses, the soul experiences a symbolic progression culminating in Pisces, where it merges with everything and returns to the origin of all things.

    How to Calculate the Astrological Houses?

    Astrologers use various methods to calculate Astrological Houses. In the System of Equal Houses, each house covers a 30º segment in the birth chart (360º of the circle of the Zodiac between the 12 signs). The Midheaven (or MC) can fall in the 9th, 10th, or 11th house, depending on the person's latitude and time of year. In the Placido System (or Quadrant methods), the MC constantly forms the cusp of the 10th house. The divisions of the Astrological Houses are not equal and can include up to three signs. The sign placed on the cusp is the most important, but all signs are manifested in the sphere of life with which the house is related. The size of a House suggests the importance of this sphere of life in the person's birth chart.

    Ruling Planets and House Elements

    In the astral chart, the information revealed by the Astrological Houses is complemented by the characteristics of the planets positioned in the respective Houses. Solar and Ascendant. For example, House 1 is dominated by the influence of Mars, while Saturn dominates House 10. Combined, the information of the Houses and the planets allows a complete reading of the astrological profile, to which the characteristics of the sign are added.

    What Do Houses Say About My Personality?

    The Astrological Houses are very important when reading an astrological chart because they express how the energy is manifested in that person. The first six houses are known as "Personal Houses," while the last six Houses are known as "Interpersonal Houses." When you analyze your birth chart, there is much information to help you understand some aspects of your way of being, behaviors, and attitudes. Being sure that each of us is a unique and highly complex being and that Astrology, by itself, has no answer for everything, this art can be an excellent tool for self-knowledge. Knowing how each of the 12 Astrological Houses influences your birth chart can be highly revealing, especially if you feel totally in tune with the characteristics associated with your sun sign. If you meet other people with whom you share your sign, you may feel that your personalities are entirely different. This is due to various individual factors, and each birth chart is unique. It has different astrological influences depending on the position of the Ascendant sign, the planets, and the Houses. On the other hand, when analyzing your astral compatibility with another person (synastry), an eventual astrological incompatibility does not mean that the relationship is doomed. But yes, there is potential to work on certain aspects of your relationship and personality. Here, Astrology can help to understand the personality of each one and give clues to make the relationship more harmonious. For example, if Virgo occupies the second house of your birth chart, but your partner has Sagittarius in the same house, they may disagree with the family financial management. Virgo tends to be more conservative and financially responsible, while Sagittarius has difficulty making long-term plans and takes finances lightly. Putting value judgments aside, we can see that different ways of being can significantly impact daily life.

    How Do Astrological Houses Influence the Reading of My Astral Chart?

    When you were born, the planets were placed in specific signs and houses. When an astrologer interprets your birth chart, he mixes the meaning of each of the planets and the house where they are positioned, which allows you to foresee the obstacles or challenges that you may face in your life. When planets visit a House, they illuminate that part of the map and energize that house. Astrologers use the Astrological Houses to predict which areas of your life stand out so that you can act and make better decisions. Knowing the energetic forces that influence our astrological personality, we can tune into the most positive side of cosmic energies and use them to our advantage to evolve as a person and grow spiritually, fulfilling our destiny.

    The 6 Axes of the Houses

    Each of the axes formed by the Astrological Houses reports a specific life theme. There are 12 Houses and six axes:
    • House 1 - House 7: Axis of the meeting
    • House 2 - House 8: Axis of possessions or Axis of life and death
    • House 3 - House 9: Thought axis (learning)
    • House 4 - House 10: Axis of individualism
    • House 5 - House 11: Axis of relationships
    • 6th house - 12th House: Axis of existence

    The 12 Houses in Astrology

    • House 1 - Individual Identity (the "I")
    • House 2 - Money, Earnings, and Possessions
    • House 3 - Mind, Environment, and Brothers
    • House 4 - Home
    • House 5 - Creative Self-Expression, Hobbies, and Fun
    • House 6 - Work, Health, and Small Animals
    • House 7 - Couple and Marriage
    • House 8 - Sex, Death, and Birth
    • House 9 - Philosophy and Adventure
    • House 10 - Career and Social Statutes
    • House 11 - Friends and Community
    • House 12 - Spirituality and Subconscious