Chinese Astrology: Philosophy, Symbiology and Signs

    Astrology is one of the oldest Chinese arts. For centuries, it has had a significant influence on the lives of people and emperors. Today, it still has an essential role in the lives of millions of people.

    Chinese Astrology is an ancient art. There are many legends to explain the origin of the Chinese Zodiac. According to some authors, it dates back to the Yellow Emperor, who reigned from 2697 BC. Until 2597 a. This astrological system, thousands of years old, still has a significant impact on the lives of the Chinese and other eastern countries. The Chinese calendar follows the cycles of the Moon (Lunar calendar), and the Chinese year always starts a little later than the Western year. In this astrological system, each year has its animal, its Yin or Yang Quality, and its element (Water, Wood, Fire, Metal, Earth).

    Philosophy of Chinese Astrology

    Yin and Yang - Opposites that complement each other

    Chinese astrology was influenced by Taoism, the ancient religion of China. The Tao (the Way, the Way, the principal) is the term that designates the source, the dynamics, and the driving force behind everything that exists. It states that everything in the universe has a feminine or masculine characteristic or aspect, expansive or reserved, light or dark. "The principle of Yin and Yang - the Male and Female elements of Nature - is the basic principle of the entire universe. It is the beginning of everything that exists in Creation. Transform parenthood; it is the root and source of life and death, and it is also found in the time of the gods." - In Nei Ching: Book of the Yellow Emperor. The essential philosophy of the Tao lies in the assumption that everything is in a constant state of change: from Yin to Yang and from Yang to Yin. These two characteristics are not in conflict with each other; on the contrary, they are complementary. We cannot do without any of them, and together, they make us complete:
    • Yan (Positive, Male, Active) - Hot, dry, day, right, south, summer, fire, full.
    • Yin (Negative, Feminine, Passive) - Cold, wet, peace, quiet, reflection, night, left, North, winter, Water, empty.
    The Yin and Yang symbol (??°??½) comprises two parts. Each half has a small point of its complement to show that each one grows within its opposite and that they are part of the whole together.

    The 12 Animals in Chinese Astrology

    One of the legends says that when Buddha reached enlightenment, he invited all the animals to share his joy. However, only twelve of them attended, and these were the ones included in the Chinese Zodiac. The twelve signs of Chinese Astrology rule the years and a month and an hour of the day (where the 24 hours are divided into 12 animals). So, for example, one is not just a tiger, as this only refers to the year ( singular animal ). The person may be from the year Tiger, but Rooster in the month he was born ( inner animal ) and Snake at the moment of birth ( secret animal ), the latter reveals the actual BEING. This system provides 8,640 possible horoscope combinations (5 elements x 12 animals x 12 months x 12 fractions of the day) combined with the five elements. For example, if you were born at 10 pm in June 1963, outwardly, you are a rabbit (year), your inner animal is the horse (month), and your secret animal is the pig (hour). (See correspondence table at the end of this article). Therefore, the astrological profile of each person is a combination of the unique characteristics of each of the animals present in your chart. Are they:
    • ?¼  Rat - Smart and Practical
    • ?‰› Buffalo - Reliable and Premeditated
    • ??? Tiger - Daring and Passionate
    • ჵ…” Rabbit - Intuition and Sensitive
    • ?¾? Dragon - Successful and Independent
    • ?›‡ Snake - Mysterious and Sophisticated
    • ?¦¬ Horse - Hardworking and Friendly
    • ?¾? Goat - Sensual and Adaptable
    • ??´ Monkey - Occurring and Funny
    • ?›? Rooster - Protector and Honest
    • ?‹— Dog - Loyal and Trustworthy
    • ?±¬ Pig - Sensual and Avid

    The Five Elements in Chinese Astrology

    For Chinese Astrology, the fundamental characteristic of Yin and Yang is complemented by one of the five elements to which we belong - water, wood, fire, metal, or Earth. The elements are determined by the Moon sign, that is, the year, month, and time of birth, and the element that predominates in a person's personality is the one that appears the most in his chart. Each element has a characteristic that applies to both animals and years:
    • ?°´ Water - Rat, Buffalo, Pig
    • ??¨ Wood - Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon
    • ??« Fire - Snake, Horse, Goat
    • ?‡‘ Metal - Monkey, Rooster, Dog
    • ჵ?? Earth - Being the center, no animal rules, but lends some of its characteristics to some of the years
    Therefore, each year has its animal, Yin or Yang quality, and element. Each year has the animal's particular characteristics that govern it and influence the Nature of our life.

    60 Year Cycle

    Chinese time is measured in 60-year cycles, which results from the multiplication of the twelve animals and the five elements. This cycle is significant and makes every 60 years a special and unique period.

    The Moon Dragon

    Knowing the position of the Lunar Nodes at the time of birth is an important event in both Chinese and Western Astrology. Nodes are not physical bodies but imaginary points placed in space that mark where the paths of the Moon and the Sun intersect. In the eastern astrological system, the Nodes are represented by a dragon. There is the Head of the Dragon to the North, and to the south, the Tail of the Dragon ( North Node and South Node in Western Astrology). Symbolically, the Dragon's Head is the point where food is ingested; the Dragon's Tail is the point where the waste is expelled. The Head of the Dragon represents the path of life, and the Tail of the Dragon represents childhood habits or past lives. Nodes represent lessons that we have to learn and relate to how we relate to others. Identify the areas of the most significant potential for growth in the life of each one of us. The Dragon Head is understood as the key to happiness. Therefore, our attention and care must be focused here to move towards success and fulfillment.

    Chinese Horoscope Signs

    • Rat Sign - Smart and Practical
    • Ox Sign - Reliable and Premeditated
    • Tiger Sign - Daring and Passionate
    • Rabbit Sign - Intuitive and Sensitive
    • Dragon Sign - Successful and Independent
    • Snake Sign - Mysterious and Sophisticated
    • Horse Sign - Hardworking and Friendly
    • Goat Sign - Sensual and Adaptable
    • Monkey Sign - Occurring and Funny
    • Rooster Sign - Protector and Honest
    • Dog Sign - Loyal and Trustworthy
    • Pig Sign - Sensual and Avid