The Elements in the Personality of the Signs

    In addition to the Primordial Qualities, traditional Astrology's definition of the signs' personality took into account other assumptions. Elements, Qualities, and Planets. The energy and characteristics of each of these factors contributed to constructing the astral personality of each of the 12 signs of the zodiac. In this article, we will talk about the role of the Elements in defining the personality of the signs.

    What Are the Elements in Astrology?

    In Astrology, the energy of the planets present in the Astral Chart is filtered through the four Elements: Fire, Earth, Air, and Water. Furthermore, each Sun Sign belongs to one of these groups of Elements. The natural characteristics of each Element to which each sign belongs influence the personality of the natives of that sign and represent different attitudes towards life. For some astrologers, the Element to which each sign belongs is also a relevant factor in understanding the compatibility of that sign with the others (see article on Synastry ). As in nature, Fire feeds on Air, but Water extinguishes it, which, in turn, is better connected with Earth, nourishing it and providing stability. Together, the four Elements represent the forces of the natural world and, in a way, depend on each other's existence to find their balance and create an overall balanced flow of energy.

    The Primordial Qualities and the Elements

    The Primordial Qualities of matter shape the essential characteristics of the signs' personalities. Organized in two axes, "Hot and Cold" and "Dry and Humid," they allowed a first categorization of the signs. Another concept was adopted from this basic definition: that of the Elements.

    1. "Hot and Cold" Axis

    You assigned the "Hot and Cold" axis to the signs in an alternate order, which resulted in the following classification:
    • Aries - Hot
    • Taurus - Cold
    • Gemini - Hot
    • Cancer - Cold
    • Leo - Hot
    • Virgo - Cold
    • Libra - Hot
    • Scorpio - Cold
    • Sagittarius - Hot
    • Capricorn - Cold
    • Aquarius - Hot
    • Pisces - Cold

    2. "Dry and Wet" Axis

    The "Dry and Wet" axis followed another criterion. This time, the classification was done two by two (Dry, Dry; Humid, Humid, ...), which resulted in:
    • Aries - Dry
    • Taurus - Dry
    • Gemini - Wet
    • Cancer - Wet
    • Leo - Dry
    • Virgo - Dry
    • Libra - Wet
    • Scorpio - Wet
    • Sagittarius - Dry
    • Capricorn - Dry
    • Aquarium - Wet
    • Pisces - Wet

    Elements and Personality of the Signs - Fire, Earth, Air, and Water

    When analyzing this classification, we can observe the formation of different combinations:
    • Dry and Hot - Aries; Leo; Sagittarius
    • Dry and Cold - Taurus; Virgo; Capricorn
    • Wet and Hot - Gemini; Libra; Aquarium
    • Humid and Cold - Cancer; Scorpio; Pisces
    These combinations give rise to the four Elements (or Triplicities) - Fire, Earth, Air, and Water, being that:
    • Fire Element - formed by the primitive qualities Dry and Hot - Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
    • Element Earth - formed by the primitive qualities Dry and Cold - Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
    • Element Air - formed by the primitive qualities Humid and Hot - Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
    • Water Element - formed by the primitive qualities Wet and Cold - Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

    The Seasons and the Elements

    Each sign of the zodiac is at a different time in terms of the season (considering the northern hemisphere in this classification):

    Fire - Dry and Hot

    • Aries - early spring
    • Leo - mid-summer
    • Sagittarius - late fall

    Earth - Dry and Cold

    • Taurus - mid-spring
    • Virgo - late summer
    • Capricorn - the start of winter

    Air - Humid and Hot

    • Gemini - late spring
    • Libra - early fall
    • Aquarius - midwinter

    Water - Wet and Cold

    • Cancer - early summer
    • Scorpio - mid-autumn
    • Pisces - end of winter
    Or expressed in another way:
    • Fire = Hot + Dry = Summer
    • Earth = Cold + Dry = Autumn
    • Air = Hot + Humid = Spring
    • Water = Cold + Wet = Winter
    Signs of the zodiac. Although three signs share the same primitive qualities and elements, each has its personality. Even though the similarities between the signs of the same Element, each of them has unique characteristics that distinguish it, not only from the signs with which it shares primitive qualities and the Element but also with all the others.

    Origin of the Personality of the Signs

    Discover how each Element of Astrology contributes to defining the signs' personalities.