Planetary Aspects in Astrology

Learn about the main Planetary Aspects in Astrology and how they influence the personality of the signs and the natal chart.

The Aspects are drawn in the birth chart as lines, connecting the planets “in aspect”, that is, the planets that, positioned in a certain sign, “observe” others and vice versa. Aspects are divided into groups: positive, negative, and weak or less (as opposed to powerful / strong or greater).

The Planetary Aspects (also known as cusps or Angles Angles house ) represent the angles that the planets (including the Sun and the Moon here) are formed at all times. The four aspects are the Ascendant , the Descendant , the Midheaven ( Medium Coeli , Zenite or MC) and the Background of Heaven ( Imum Coeli , Nadir or IC). These are the most significant and karmic points in the birth chart . If the planets fall in these aspects or close to them, then the personality and life of a person will be emphasized.

Each planet has its own charge of energy and, when a planet comes into contact or is related to others, the energy of both can be more or less harmonious. This results in different types of interactions.

What Are the Aspects in Astrology?

In the birth chart , the planetary Aspects reflect the position and interaction of the energies between two or more planets , that is, the way in which the energies of the planets relate to and influence each other. The aspects can be favorable, positive or challenging depending on whether there is a more or less compatible energy mix between the planets.

The planets (Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto) are in “aspect” when they “observe” each other from their positions on the chart. The distance between them is defined in degrees .

The Astral Chart and the Planetary Aspects

If you want to know the traits of your astral personality and how the astrological elements present influence your way of being and being, you must create your astral chart . Only by studying the position that the stars occupied in the sky at the exact moment of your birth, and the relationship they exert with each other, can you obtain your astrological profile.

Whether you turn to an astrologer, an online tool, or decide to start making your map, the interpretation of the birth chart takes into account the analysis of three fundamental elements:

  • Planets (represents motivation)
  • Zodiac signs (show how we direct or use that motivation)
  • Astrological Houses (show in which sphere of life this motivation and effort will manifest itself)

The positioning of these elements in the sky (these are the main ones, since each astrologer can integrate others such as lunar nodes , for example) at the time of your birth, allows you to draw a unique celestial image and, from there, study how they influence and manifest themselves in your astral personality .

The positioning of the planets on the map corresponds to the movement in degrees, minutes and seconds that each of the planets occupied in the sky when it was born (the Angles ).

Types of Aspects

The Aspects, by suggesting the type of relationships between the Houses, the energies between the planets and the energies between the signs allow us to study how the relationships between the different stars influence your life and personality.


  • Type - Positive or Negative
  • Distance - 0º
  • Orb - from 8º to 10º in Sun and Moon


  • Type - Positive
  • Distance - 120º
  • Orb - 8th


  • Type - Positive
  • Distance - 60º
  • Orb - 6th


  • Type - Negative
  • Distance - 180º
  • Orb - from 8º to 10º in Sun, Moon or the ruling planet


  • Type - Negative
  • Distance - 90º
  • Orb - 8th


  • Type - Negative
  • Distance - 45º
  • Orb - 2nd


  • Type - Negative
  • Distance - 150º
  • Orb - 2nd, tied 3rd with Sun, Moon and personal planet


  • Type - Weak-Negative
  • Distance - 135º
  • Orb - 2nd


  • Type - Weak-Negative
  • Distance - 30º
  • Orb - 2nd

Negative Aspects

The Conjunction is the most powerful of all aspects. The negative aspects, the Square and the Opposition , are strong, and although they are considered negative, they are also a source of energy and potential, which give strength of character and the desire to fight for what we want.

The Semi-square and quincunx can cause anxiety and stress, but they are not as strong as the square or opposition. The Quincunx can be very unpredictable and requires careful analysis.

Positive aspects

The positive aspects, especially the Trine and the Sextile , help to make life easier and help us to express the qualities of the planets and signs, without pressure or stress. In general, they indicate harmony and a state of tranquility between the planets involved. However, the presence of many such Aspects can weaken the personality.

Minor Aspects

The Sesquiquadrate and the Middle Sextile are considered weak, but they can become a source of tension (like the Semi-Square and the Quincunx), or a form of negativity depending on the planets involved.

The Orbs

An Aspect is only considered in Astrology if it is “orbiting”, that is, if the planets are aligned with each other within a certain number of degrees . The table above shows the maximum number of degrees that should separate two planets that make up an Aspect.

The 12 Houses in Astrology

  • House 1 - Individual Identity (the “I”)
  • House 2 - Money, Earnings and Possessions
  • House 3 - Mind, Environment and Brothers
  • House 4 - Home
  • House 5 - Creative Self-Expression, Hobbies and Fun
  • House 6 - Work, Health and Small Animals
  • House 7 - Couple and Marriage
  • House 8 - Sex, Death and Birth
  • House 9 - Philosophy and Adventure
  • House 10 - Career and Social Statutes
  • House 11 - Friends and Community
  • House 12 - Spirituality and Subconscious